ENG‎ 中文‎

China Extends Visa-Free Trial for Malaysia and European Tourists

Which countries are included in the China's visa-free trial?

17. May 2024
China Extends Visa-Free Trial for Malaysia and European Tourists

The extended visa-free trial program applies to 11 European countries:

• Austria
• Belgium
• France
• Germany
• Hungary
• Ireland
• Italy
• Luxembourg
• The Netherlands
• Spain
• Switzerland

Additionally, Malaysia is in the roster of the visa-free initiative. Visitors from these countries are now entitled to up to 15 days of stay in China without the need for a visa application process.

A step towards a tourism sector recovery

Like any country, China’s tourism industry has been greatly impacted by the COVID-19 restrictions. In 2023 alone, the country saw only 35.5 million travel entries and exits, a far cry from the 97.7 million recorded in 2019, before the pandemic. By simplifying their entry process for the mentioned nationalities, China hopes to attract more tourists and revive its travel sector.

However, travellers visiting China under the visa-free program should be aware of some specific requirements that might still apply. Better check with Chinese embassies or consulate for the latest information on entry procedures and any necessary documentation to avoid further hassle.

With this visa-free trial extension, China opens its doors wider to European tourists and Malaysian, making travel to the country more accessible and seamless. Hopefully, this is one step closer to the recovery of China’s tourism industry.


No comments has been added on this post

Add new comment

Please login to add your comment. Log in